What is IELTS?

The International Language Testing System (IELTS) is a test that measures the language proficiency of people who want to study or work in environments where English is used as a language of communication. It is an internationally owned and globally recognized direct English language assessment that is readily available throughout the world.

An Introduction to IELTS

The IELTS Examination Academic is divided in to four sections: Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking. We have included a brief outline of each.


Academic Reading
The Academic Reading test is 60 minutes long. It has three sections with 40 questions to answer. Candidates for IELTS Academic do different Reading test to IELTS general Training.
Academic Writing
The Academic Written test is 60 minutes long. It has two writing tasks, a repost of 150 words and an easy of 250 words.
In the Speaking test, you have a conversation with a certified examiner. It is interactive and as close to a real-life situation as a test can get. The test is 11 to 14 minutes long with three parts.
The Listening is 30 minutes long.

Academic or General Training

IELTS is available in two test formats – Academic or General Training – and provides a valid and accurate assessment of the four language skills: listening, reading, writing and speaking.

IELTS Academic

IELTS Academic is for people planning to study in higher education or seeking professional registration. It assesses whether you are ready to begin studying or training in an environment where English is the language used. IELTS Academic doesn’t assume that test takers have already mastered (or even partly have) the range of skills they are likely to need at college or university. For this reason, while the test reflects some of the features of academic language, it does not aim to simulate academic study tasks in their entirety. This approach is widely supported by the institutions that recognize IELTS.

IELTS General Training

IELTS General Training focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK must take the General Training test. It should be noted that professional organizations normally require an Academic test result for registration and migration purposes.

Fair to all

IELTS treats all candidates with the utmost fairness and respect by actively avoiding cultural bias and by accepting all standard varieties of native-speaker English, including North American, British, Australian and New Zealand English.

Why will you take IELTS?

It is a dependable, practical and valid English language assessment primarily used by those seeking international education, professional recognition, benchmarking to international standards, and global mobility. IELTS is one of the most respected English language exams worldwide.

How does it operate?

This exam assesses your skills in four modules: listening, reading, writing and peaking. Each module of the exam is graded separately as a ‘Band Score’. The module scores are added together to provide an Overall Band Score. Band scores range from 1 (non user) to 9 (expert user). Most universities and colleges abroad will require a 6 to 6.5 Band Score to be granted entry to their programs.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *